Lighthouse Group Board of Directors

Richard Last  

Richard Last - Non-Executive Chairman

Richard Last holds a number of other directorships of both public and private companies, including as non-executive Chairman of Xpertise Group plc and Knowledge Technology Solutions plc, both AIM-listed. He is particularly experienced in managing and developing IT and service-related businesses, and has a considerable background in mergers and acquisitions. Richard is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Malcolm Streatfield  

Malcolm Streatfield - Chief Executive Officer

Malcolm Streatfield was appointed Chief Executive of LighthouseGroup plc in January 2003. He has been involved in financial services since 1976 and was elected to the council of APFA (Association of Professional Financial Advisers) in June 2002. In June 2008, Malcolm was appointed to the Customer Impact Panel of the ABI (Association of British Insurers) and from February 2009 become a member of the Financial Services Practitioner Panel. He joined Lighthouse in April 2002, following the acquisition of BWA Group where he was Chief Executive.

Peter Smith  

Peter Smith - Group Finance Director

Peter is a Chartered Accountant and was formerly a partner with KPMG and group finance director of Christie-Tyler Group, one of the UK’s largest upholstered furniture manufacturers. During his time working in private practice, both as an audit partner and subsequently in corporate finance, Peter gained substantial experience of the financial services industry. Peter is responsible for overseeing the group’s finance function.

Ken Patterson  

Ken Paterson – Group Compliance and Risk Director

Ken was appointed to the Board as Group Compliance and Risk Director on 12 February 2014. He has more than 20 years’ experience in senior compliance, risk and regulatory roles within the UK financials services sector, encompassing regulatory bodies, life companies and advisory businesses. Ken joined Lighthouse in August 2012 as Group Compliance Director for the Group’s regulated businesses and has contributed fully as part of the management team since that date.


Alex Scott-Barrett - Non-Executive Director

Alex Scott-Barrett is a chartered accountant. From 1988 to 2003 he held various offices in the corporate finance and asset management divisions of Cazenove. He is the former chairman of Suffolk Life plc. He chairs Lighthouse Group’s Audit and Remuneration Committees.


Fay Goddard - Non-Executive Director

Fay has extensive experience in the UK financial services sector, having worked in a number of roles, many of them high profile, since 1988. She is former a Chief Executive of the Personal Finance Society, the UK's leading professional body for financial planners and part of the Chartered Insurance Institute, the world's largest professional body for insurance and financial services. Prior to that Fay was Deputy Director General and Policy Director at the Association of Independent Financial Advisers. She chairs Lighthouse Group’s Regulation and Risk Committee.

Committees of the Board

The following Committees, all of which are composed of the Group's non-executive directors, have been established:

  • Audit Committee, responsible for reviewing the Group's accounting and financial policies and controls.
  • Remuneration Committee, which sets the remuneration of the Executive Directors and senior employees.
  • Regulatory and Risk Committee, which monitors the Group's compliance with regulatory matters.

The Board had not established a Nominations Committee as it regards the approval and appointment of directors as a matter for consideration by the whole Board.